Skip to content
BagRule
Menu

Jet2

Jet2 Personal Item Size (2026)

Jet2’s free personal item is the small under-seat bag 40×30×20 cm, plus a free 10 kg cabin bag 56×45×25. Weight for under-seat not published. Verified 2026-09-17.

Quick answer

Jet2’s free “personal item” is the small under-seat bag: max 40 × 30 × 20 cm, must sit under the seat in front of you. Official examples: handbag, laptop bag, or airport purchase. It is free on every Jet2.com flight and Jet2holidays, in addition to the free 10 kg hand luggage (56 × 45 × 25 cm including wheels and handles). Jet2 does not publish a weight limit for the under-seat bag (fees FAQ shows ), so measure to the size box and keep it light enough to stash cleanly. Pack valuables here if Jet2 gate-tags the 10 kg bag to the hold on a busy flight, or buy Guaranteed Cabin Luggage and confirm the live price when you book.


Last verified

Table

Swipe for more

Field Value Source (opened 2026-09-17)
Official max 40 × 30 × 20 cm Baggage; Hand Luggage FAQ; Fees FAQ (Personal Item)
Placement Under the seat in front of you (baggage + Hand Luggage FAQ). Terms §17 also allow overhead locker or under seat Baggage; Hand Luggage FAQ; Terms §17
Cost FREE — all customers Fees FAQ Online + Airport/Gate = Free
Weight Not published (fees table ) Fees FAQ
Official examples Handbag, laptop bag, airport purchase Baggage; Hand Luggage FAQ
Cabin-bag contrast 56 × 45 × 25 cm incl. wheels/handles; 10 kg; free overhead hand luggage Baggage; Hand Luggage FAQ; Fees (Large Cabin Bag)
Infant Infant hand baggage forms part of the adult’s hand baggage allowance Hand Luggage FAQ
Child / infant equipment Up to two free hold items (pushchair, car seat, carrier, travel cot) — not extra cabin personal items Baggage; Jet2holidays baggage
Converted inches 15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 in Converted — not published
Gate / check Hand baggage subject to checks at check-in and boarding gates Fees FAQ note on personal/large cabin rows

Wheels/handles on under-seat: Official under-seat copy states 40 × 30 × 20 without a separate “including wheels and handles” clause (that clause is attached to the 56 × 45 × 25 hand luggage). Measure the packed bag to the published box.


Free vs paid

Swipe for more

Booking type This under-seat bag Hand luggage 56×45×25 / 10 kg Hold
Jet2.com flight-only Free Free Paid 22 kg bags
Jet2holidays Free Free 22 kg included
Guaranteed Cabin Luggage Still free / still size-capped Protects the 10 kg bag’s cabin place n/a

There is no paid upgrade that enlarges this under-seat bag. Money buys hold bags or Guaranteed Cabin Luggage (for the trolley), not a bigger personal item.
Unlike easyJet Standard / Ryanair without Priority: Jet2 already includes the overhead-size bag. This leaf is the second free cabin piece.

Light / Essential: Not published for Jet2. Under-seat rights are standard.


Gotchas

  1. This is not the 56 × 45 × 25 trolley. That bag is also free, separately.
  2. 40 × 30 × 20. Do not confuse with BA’s 40 × 30 × 15.
  3. No official under-seat kg (fees table ). Stick to the size box.
  4. Soft bags expand. Measure packed.
  5. Airport purchase still must fit 40 × 30 × 20 if used as the under-seat piece.
  6. Busy flight: 10 kg bag may go hold. Keep meds, docs, valuables, and spare lithium in this bag.
  7. Infant does not get a separate published personal item.
  8. Extra hand baggage beyond allowance → £45 / €55 (fees leaf).
  9. easyJet’s free bag is 45 × 36 × 20 (different airline).
  10. Ryanair’s free bag is 40 × 30 × 20 under Priority rules that differ; do not mix fare logic.

Traveler caution: Jet2 already gives you the big cabin bag free. The 40 × 30 × 20 under-seat bag is your second free piece, ideal for laptop, meds, and anything you refuse to see tagged for the hold. Jet2 does not publish an under-seat kg limit, so measure to the box.


VERIFY (unpublished or conflicting on official pages opened 2026-09-17):

  • VERIFY: Inch conversions — not printed.
  • VERIFY: Whether any Jet2 UI string uses “personal item” vs only “small under-seat bag.”
  • VERIFY: Any unpublished under-seat weight guidance beyond fees table (Terms §17 also omits a kg for the small item).
  • VERIFY: Terms §17 dual stowage (overhead or under seat) vs marketing under seat only — Writing should lead under-seat; mention Terms overhead option only if space needed.
  • VERIFY: Restricted-seat under-seat stowage — not stated on Jet2 Hand Luggage FAQ (unlike easyJet); do not invent.

FAQ

What is the Jet2 personal item size?
Official: small under-seat bag / Personal Item (Under Seat Only), max 40 × 30 × 20 cm, under the seat. Free. Weight not published on the fees table (opened 2026-09-17).

Can I bring a personal item and a cabin bag on Jet2?
Yes. Free 10 kg hand luggage 56 × 45 × 25 cm (wheels/handles in) plus this under-seat bag.

Does Jet2 allow a backpack as a personal item?
Only if it fits 40 × 30 × 20 cm and goes under the seat. Official examples emphasise handbag / laptop bag / airport purchase; dimensions still rule.

Is there a weight limit for the Jet2 under-seat bag?
Not published on the official fees table (shows ). Jet2 does not state an under-seat kg. The 10 kg cap applies to the hand luggage / Large Cabin Bag, not to a stated under-seat kg.

What happens if my under-seat bag is too big?
Oversized / extra hand baggage can attract the airport/gate fee £45 / €55 (fees FAQ) and may need to travel as hold. Measure before you fly.

Do infants get a Jet2 personal item?
Infant hand baggage forms part of the adult’s hand baggage allowance (Hand Luggage FAQ). Free pushchair/car seat/etc. are hold equipment items, not an extra under-seat personal item.

Disclaimer

Fees, fare bundles, and size rules change. Confirm the latest limits and live bag prices on official Jet2 pages before you travel. BagRule is an independent publisher and is not affiliated with Jet2.